M3 Operating System Development

A chronicle of the development of the M3 operating system

Rough plan of action for the near future

leave a comment »

This might be completely off, and is completely subject to change by the minute, but here’s my current thinking about what to work on in the near future. I’d like to keep development rolling, while I read up and do some research into some of the major pieces of the kernel such as memory management, process management, etc.

  • Interrupts – set up an Interrupt Descriptor Table (IDT) and write some Interrupt Service Routines (ISRs) so that the kernel can be responsive to certain important interrupts, such as clock ticks, page faults, etc.
  • Write a driver that handles the keyboard.
  • Write some test routines. I’d like to build as many tests as possible along the way, so that I know that everything is working exactly how I think it is.

I think that a two-pronged approach to this project will keep the momentum going. When I feel like coding, I will. When I don’t feel up to coding, I’ll be reading and researching and planning.

Written by m3os

March 28, 2009 at 8:50 am

Posted in Status Update

Leave a Reply

