M3 Operating System Development

A chronicle of the development of the M3 operating system

False Start – Setting up for development on OS X

leave a comment »

I mentioned in an earlier post that I had switched over to my EeePC once I started work on my C kernel. I was forced to switch because the development tools that come with OS X do not include support for ELF binaries, and many of the GNU development tools are not available. The version of gcc that is installed only supports the creation of Mach-O executable files, and I want to target ELF binaries, so that I can enjoy the benefit of full usage of the GNU toolchain.

In that previous post, I had mentioned that rather than go through the hassle of building a cross-compiler on my Mac that would target i386-elf binaries, I preferred to keep my development momentum going and just switch over to develop under Linux on my EeePC.

Developing on the EeePC is fine, very portable and handy. However, I often wish I could work on M3 on my Mac, with its full-size keyboard and bigger screen. So I did some research today into exactly what it would take to build a cross-compiler on OS X.

What’s a cross-compiler, you ask? Good question! A cross-compiler is a compiler that generates executables that target another platform. In my case, I would like to target ELF binaries that run on the IA-32 architecture. The flavor of Unix at the heart of OS X is called Darwin, and it does not currently support the ELF executable format. Lucky for me (and for the development world), the GNU project has built their most-excellent C compiler to be very portable, and to support a wide variety of target architectures and executable formats. So what I am able to do is to compile a version of the gcc compiler that targets ELF binaries on the i386 architecture. Once I have a cross compiler, I will be able to compile ELF binaries on OS X, but obviously will not be able to execute them on OS X. That’s perfectly OK though, since I don’t want to execute them on OS X, I want to execute them on my IA-32 system emulated by Q(emu).

There is a project out there on the interwebs that is called DarwinPorts. Essentially, it’s a repository for tools that have been built for Darwin, with a nice client application that manages dependencies and handles downloading, building and installing the software for you. Easy! And hey, they have packages for a cross-compiler toolchain. Great! I figured I would install binutils and gcc and be off to the races.

Unfortunately, things didn’t quite work out that way. There is some problem in the binutils package that was causing the compile to error out. After thoroughly googling the issue and attempting several fixes over a couple of hours, I threw in the towel. As nice as DarwinPorts is, it didn’t work out for me in this case. 

I wasn’t ready to throw in the towel on building a cross-compiler on OS X yet though. I just had to roll up my sleeves, get the source code for the packages that I needed, and build the tools myself. After a bit of work, I got everything built.

The first litmus test of course was to run my make script and have the cross-compiler build my binaries. Yes! They compiled!

Then I needed to test that the binutils tools that I used would work with my binary file, and create a floppy disk image properly. Yes! It looks like everything worked OK, and I’ve got a floppy image sitting in my folder.

Then for the big test – see if the floppy image will boot in Q… Ding! Ding! Ding! We have a winner!

Phew. In the next post I will describe exactly how I built the toolchain, because while it’s not too difficult, it’s not a walk in the park either. The end result is totally worth it though – now I can continue development of M3 on my Mac!

Written by m3os

March 29, 2009 at 9:56 am

Posted in Status Update

Leave a Reply

